Tags

,


It is very interesting to make the famous writer from the Elizabethen age travel through so many years to modern days to have a face-to-face conversation with a new university student.  I found it difficult to read Shakespeare’s part of speech because it contains some complex and inactive words such as “thee”, “perchance” and “ave”.  Anyway, it reads so funny and attracts people.

Thank the teacher who shared this essay with me, which I think has close links with me because I major in English.  Nowadays I often hear people say there is not much prospect for English-major students and they can’t even find a job after graduate, and I hold against that opinion.  I am persistent in this major because I take great interest in literature and creative writing, I really enjoying reading materials and newspapers online or shared by teachers.  I was just wondering if anyone agree with me on this point, in that case I could comfort myself at least I have those people who stand by my side.  And today I happened to attend a lecture held by the university and our guest is an ambassador of the United States from Shanghai whose name is Robert Griffiths.  He is kind of a language genius in that he can speak Thai besides English and Chinese, and his real job is a diploma, who deals with diplomatic affairs as everyday jobs.  And I grasped the chance to ask him two questions.  About the second question, I asked him about the suggestions for a freshman who majors in English like me, and he first confirmed that I made a good choice, then he gently offered me some advice.  Then I felt more supported about my choice, anyway I never doubt whether I make the right decision.

OK, I’m sorry that was a little bit off the topic, so now let’s get back on this interesting piece of work.  I can tell from the tone of Shakespeare that he thinks the people nowadays still admire and love literature with restless enthusiasm as the people of his age did, so he uses an arrogant and lyric voice with a sense of entitlement talking with this freshman who only desires for the major which can help him get a job at Google or Twitter or Facebook, which are all the products of the information age.  And that’s what makes the conversation so funny, two people both drawn themselves in their own age’s achievements and ignore the great civilization created by people at the different ages.  It’s also a little bit sad that people’s obsession make them only accept what they approved to be useful and meaningful.  Anyway, I remembered that you said you didn’t quite get what the end of the article mean, and here is my comprehension, which can only be taken as a reference, i.e. you can have different opinions of course.  The latter part of the article shows that even this literary giant from Elizabethen age—Shakespeare was absorbed into the modern technology for the use of attracting “feminine pulchritude”.  Though he puzzled about the freshman’s obsession with high-tech and artificial intelligence’s by-products, he seemed to agree on the usage of the social network to make acquaintance with women, especially beautiful women.  The author makes fun of Shakespeare’s not being understood by his own wife upon his literary work thus he wants to seek more beauties who appreciate his work.  The only thing Shakespeare find interesting and meaningful is to use these seemingly meaningless electronic devices to gain appreciation from attractive women.  Therefore, in order to cater to the modern tastes of charismatic man, Shakespeare took off all his clothes to take a photo.

And that is not to say the whole story is just a joke, its main point is to illustrate the serious fact that people are fickle in affection, and notice that it’s not common unimportant things that people gradually abandon because of too much exposure to the artificial intelligence and too little time of reading the classics, it is the art of literature, the genius writer Shakespeare, and that’s what are worthy of being attached importance to.  Remember Shakespeare telling some confuses to the freshman about why they would rather “google” something than find by themselves in the library, and why they choose to be isolated by holding smartphones in their hands when they can talk to each other intimately with their mouths?  Maybe up till now human beings’ civilizations are much more advanced than it was during the age of Shakespeare, but the ancestor’s warnings are far too wise than today’s.  Fundamentally speaking, human beings cannot leave their nourishment for the mind behind, or they would become emotionless creature at last, relying on lifeless machinery device to live.

